Select Page

The Pacific Series

The Pacific Series consists of three novels: Pacific Edge, Pacific Coast Highway, and Pacific Blues. (Tudor Publishing published the first novel, Pacific Edge. HarperCollins published the other two.)

Each novel is set in the Brentwood/Pacific Palisades area. Derek Cheney is a retired homicide detective, who lives with his wife in Brentwood.

The film rights to Pacific Edge were purchased by a Japanese film company, but the film was never made. The film rights to the other two books were optioned, but neither book was made into a film.

I recently reverted the film rights to Pacific Edge.

Author’s Notes For Pacific Edge

I originally wrote this book in 1988 and it was published in 1989. However, it never really saw the light of day because the publisher, Tudor Publishing Company, shuttered its doors about that time and the novel got lost in the shuffle. Therefore, except for my editor and a few family members, this is a brand new novel.

I reverted the rights many years ago, with the intention of seeing it in print again and, hopefully, doing what I could to help the book reach an audience I believe it deserves.

Pacific Edge is my favorite novel. In fact, I believe it is the best book I ever wrote. It grabs you on page one and doesn’t let you go till the final paragraph. When I re-read it a few weeks ago, I realized that it was the first book I wrote in a style I could truly call my own. It took me nearly one million published words and almost a decade to develop that style, and I used it in all my HarperCollins novels (Black Butterfly, Black Heart, Tears of Angels, Pacific Coast Highway, and Pacific Blues). The last two novels are part of the “Pacific series” that begins with Pacific Edge, and they include the same major characters. I plan to re-release Pacific Coast Highway and Pacific Blues in 2013, and I am thinking about writing a new book in the series.

Even though the story takes place in Los Angeles in 1989, it has its roots in an event that took place decades before. This backstory was inspired by a story told to me by my mother-in-law, with some help from my wife.

Pacific Edge is not only my favorite novel, but it is also my wife’s and my parents’ favorite as well. In fact, most people I know who have read my novels like this one the best.

I believe you will enjoy it too. It’s a hell of a ride with an ending you will never forget.

Stephen Smoke

November 12, 2012

I am reissuing the series starting March of 2013, with Pacific Edge. Each book will have a new cover (see image in this post) and will contain a few personal observations about the story and the characters.

Each will be available in softcover and eBook formats (Kindle, Nook, and iBook).

If you would like to be notified when the books will be available, click here and we will send you an email notification one week before each book’s publication. The book is also available via a Goodreads Book Giveaway until January 21, 2013 (see below).


Goodreads Book Giveaway

Pacific Edge by Stephen Smoke

Pacific Edge

by Stephen Smoke

Giveaway ends January 21, 2013.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.


Enter to win