Select Page


Stephen Smoke

Stephen Smoke is the author of 20 novels, including Black Butterfly, Pacific Coast Highway, Pacific Blues, Trick of the Light, The Prince of Palos Verdes, and Cathedral of the Senses under his own and other names. He has also written ten non-fiction books.

Stephen has written and directed feature films, including “Street Crimes” (starring Dennis Farina) and “Final Impact,” and has written screenplays for others, including “Magic Kid.” All of Stephen’s HarperCollins novels–and most of the rest of his novels–have been optioned for film, including Trick of the Light (published by Beyond Words–publisher of The Secret), which was optioned by Hemdale (winner of two Academy Awards for Best Picture: “Platoon” and “The Last Emperor of China.”)

In 2011 he published Cathedral of the Senses, which was the first novel with its own original embedded soundtrack (for the iPad). It was also available in softcover and eBook (Kindle and Nook) formats. The songs on the album (Cathedral of the Senses), were written by Stephen and recorded mainly by musicians and singers living in Sedona. All the songs are available for download via iTunes, Amazon, and other popular music download sites.

In July of 2012 Stephen re-released Trick of the Light, which is the prequel to Cathedral of the Senses. Several years earlier he recorded an album (in support of the Trick of the Light novel) on which several well-known musicians, including Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member, Garth Hudson (the keyboard player for The Band), played on various tracks. The new edition of Trick of the Light was released in softcover and eBook formats, plus an enhanced multimedia version for the iPad. The enhanced edition contains portions of the songs embedded at appropriate points in the novel. The songs are available at all popular music download sites.

The re-release of Trick of the Light coincided with the publication of the I, Walt Whitman novel (in softcover and eBook formats, along with an enhanced multimedia version for the iPad). The iPad edition contains parts of songs written by Stephen, embedded at appropriate places in the eBook.

With the publication of Cathedral of the Senses, Trick of the Light, and I, Walt Whitman in all three formats (softcover, eBook, and enhanced multimedia format for the iPad), Stephen has the unique distinction of being a novelist with three multimedia eBooks, each containing its own embedded soundtrack.

Stephen founded and published Mystery Magazine, and published the first online mystery magazine (Hamilton Caine’s Mystery Digest).

He is also a published songwriter. He is a member of ASCAP and regularly collects royalties for music he has written. He occasionally plays at local coffeehouses and other venues.

Stephen is the author of the Bill of Responsibilities series and the Teen Bill of Responsibilities Course, which is taught in several Southern California schools.

Stephen’s new novel Rules of the Game is scheduled for a spring 2017 release and will be available in softcover, eBook and enhanced multimedia formats.


FREE Newsletter

Receive Publishing, Music and Performance Updates and Music, Publishing and Video EXTRAS.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

FREE Monthly Newsletter and Updates

Receive Publishing, Music and Performance Updates as well as Music, Publishing and Video EXTRAS.

You have Successfully Subscribed!